Subscribe to the SHARE newsletter by sending an e-mail to


The SHARE data collection has been funded by the European Commission through the 5th framework programme (project QLK6-CT-2001-00360 in the thematic programme Quality of Life). Further support by the European Commission through the 6th framework programme (projects SHARE-I3, RII-CT-2006-062193, as an Integrated Infrastructure Initiative, COMPARE, CIT5-CT-2005-028857, as a project in Priority 7, Citizens and Governance in a Knowledge Based Society, and SHARE-LIFE (CIT4-CT-2006-028812)), through the 7th framework programme (SHARE-PREP (No 211909), SHARE-LEAP (No 227822), M4 (No 261982), and DASISH (No 283646); through Horizon 2020 (SHAREDEV3 (No 676536), SERISS (No 654221), SSHOC (No 823782), SHARE-COHESION (No 870628), SHARE-COVID19 (No 101015924), RItrain (No 654156) and ERIC Forum (No 823798)) and by DG Employment, Social Affairs & Inclusion through VS 2015/0195, VS 2016/0135, VS 2018/0285, VS 2019/0332, VS 2020/0313, and SHARE-EUCOV: GA No 101052589 is gratefully acknowledged.

Substantial co-funding for add-ons such as the intensive training and retention program and the collection of HRS-harmonised biomarkers was granted by the US National Institute on Aging (U01 AG09740-13S2, P01 AG005842, P01 AG08291, P30 AG12815, R21 AG025169, Y1-AG-4553-01, IAG BSR06-11, OGHA 04-064, BSR12-04 and R01AG052527-02), further funding was granted for the development of a Harmonized Cognitive Assessment Protocol (HCAP) (R01 AG056329-02). Substantial funding for the central coordination of SHARE was received from the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, BMBF) and the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science.

To protect the respondents, SHARE has a strict policy of not accepting funds from commercial enterprises nor does SHARE allow data access to commercial enterprises.

SHARE has been part of the ESFRI (European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures) roadmap and became the first ERIC (European Research Infrastructure Consortium) with the first wave. National funding is now dominant (see below for details), with substantial support by the European Commission’s DG Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities to new SHARE countries.

National funding has been provided by:

Austria: Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft (BMWFW), Austrian Science Foundation (FWF), Österreichische Nationalbank (OeNB) and Bundesministerium für Arbeit, Soziales und Konsumentenschutz (BMASK)

Belgium: Wave 4: Belgian Science Policy Administration (BELSPO), Flemish Agency for Innovation by Science and Technology (IWT), University of Liege (ULG) & University of Antwerpen (UA) and Wave 5: The Federation Wallonia-Brussels, The Walloon Region; the Hercules foundation (Flemish Government) and Wave 6: Herculesstichting, L'Institut wallon de l'évaluation, de la prospective et de la statistique (IWEPS), Communauté Française and Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO)

Croatia: Ministry of Labour and Pension Systems, Ministry of Science, Education and Sports

Czech Republic: Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports

Denmark: Danish Council for Independent Research – Social Science

Estonia: Ministry of Education, Ministry of Social Affairs and Tallinn University

France: Caisse des dépôts et consignations (CDC), Caisse nationale d‘assurance maladie (CNAM), Caisse nationale d‘assurance vieillesse (CNAV), Caisse nationale de solidarité pour l‘autonomie (CNSA), Commissariat général du plan, Conseil d‘orientation des retraites (COR), Direction de l‘animation de la recherche, des études et des statistiques du ministère du travail (DARES), Direction de la recherche, des études, de l‘évaluation et des statistiques du ministère de la santé (DREES), Institut de recherche en santé publique (IReSP), Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques (INSEE), Institut national de prévention et d‘éducation pour la santé (INPES), Ministère de l‘enseignement supérieur et de la recherche, Ecole des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS), Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale (INSERM), Conseil d'Orientation des Retraites (COR) and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)

Germany: German Research Fund (grant to research survey methodological questions in Wave 4), Forschungsnetzwerk Alterssicherung (FNA), Volkswagenstiftung, German Federal Ministry for Education and Research (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, BMBF), Max-Planck Society for the Advancement of Science and the German Research Council (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG)

Greece: General Secretariat of Research and Technology (GSRT)

Ireland: Irish Research Council for Humanities and Social Sciences

Israel: U.S.National Institute of Aging (R03AG029258, R01AG031729, R21AG025169), National Insurance Institute of Israel, The German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF), Ministry of Science, Ministry for Social Equality, formerly Ministry of Senior Citizens and Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Italy: Universities of Padua and Venice, Ministry of Education, University and Research (MIUR), Fondazione CARIPARO, Fondazione CARIPLO and COMPAGNIA di SAN PAOLO

Luxembourg: Ministry of High Education and Research and Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research (LISER)

Netherlands: The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO), The Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, The Province of Noord-Brabant, Netspar, Tilburg University and Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment

Poland: Ministry of Family, Labour and Social Policy from the European Social Fund

Portugal: Alto Comissariado da Saúde for the national survey, Câmara Municipal de Lisboa, Instituto do Envelhecimento, Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia

Slovenia: The Ministry of Education, Science and Sport

Spain: Spanish Ministry of Science and Innovation (MICINN), Bank of Spain

Sweden: Umea University, The Swedish Research Council

Switzerland: University of Lausanne (UNIL), Département Universitaire de Médecine et Santé Communautaires (DUMSC), HEC Lausanne (Faculté des Hautes Etudes Commerciales), Federal Office for Education and Science (OFES), Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)